Small Town Living
Village Of Mead Office
(402) 624-2495
Non-Emergency Fire & Rescue
(402) 624-3610

October 19, 2023

A Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Village of Mead, NE was held October 19, 2023 at the Mead Community Building. Chairman Thorson called the meeting to order at 5:30 pm. Notice of the meeting was provided in advance thereof by posting notice at the Bank of Mead, US Post Office, and the Village Office as shown by the certificate of posting notice attached to these minutes. Advance notice was also provided to all members of the Board of Trustees. All proceedings were held while the convened meeting was open to the public. Roll call showed the following board members present: Chairman William Thorson: Trustees Jason Felty, Daniel Simon, and Richard Wielage. Absent was Jason Lee. Also present was Planning Commission member Andrew Jackson. Guests were Mason Herrman and Keith Marvin.

Thorson noted the posting of the Open Meetings Law placed on the table by the door.

Motion by Wielage, second by Thorson, to adopt the agenda. Vote: Felty-yes, Lee-absent, Simon-yes, Thorson-yes, Wielage-yes; motion carried 4-0.

Discussion was held on the Land Use Categories/Matrix. Items discussed were fireworks permitted in districts; TA1 vs Agricultural zoning; septic systems will only be permitted on 2.99 acres or less with approval by NDEE; concern of future wells within the wellhead protection area; height requirement within the Neighborhood Business District; guideline for notification of zoning changes; and future posting of Zoning / Subdivision Regulations on the village website. Fifteen copies of Zoning / Subdivision Regulations will be presented to the Clerk for distribution for committee review.

Motion by Wielage, second by Simon, to adjourn at 6:20 p.m. Vote: Lee-absent, Simon-yes, Thorson-yes, Wielage-yes, Felty-yes; motion carried 4-0.


William Thorson, Chairman

June Moline, Clerk