Small Town Living
Village Of Mead Office
(402) 624-2495
Non-Emergency Fire & Rescue
(402) 624-3610

Board of Trustees Special Meeting 17-SEP-18

Mead Nebraska > News > Board Minutes > Board of Trustees Special Meeting 17-SEP-18

September 17, 2018

A Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Village of Mead, NE was held September 17, 2018 at the Village Office. Chairman Havelka called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m. Notice of the meeting was provided in advance thereof by posting notice at the Bank of Mead, US Post Office and the Village Office as shown by the certificate of posting notice attached to these minutes. Advance notice was also provided to all members of the Board of Trustees. All proceedings were held while the convened meeting was open to the public. Roll call showed the following board members present: Chairman Shawn Havelka; Trustees Jason Felty, Richard Wielage and Rodney Wimer. Absent was Trustee Gary Guyle. Also present was Clerk June Moline. Guests were Mandy Craig and Ailene Raver.

Moline noted the Posting of the Open Meetings Law.

Motion by Havelka, second by Felty, to adopt the agenda. Vote: Felty-yes, Guyle-absent, Havelka-yes, Wielage-yes, Wimer-yes; motion carried 4-0.

Havelka stated the purpose of the meeting was to make the decision to go with EMC or Continental Western Group as the village’s insurance carrier beginning October 1, 2018. Inspro Insurance will be the village agent as approved at the September 11, 2018 meeting of the Board of Trustees.

Mandy Craig, broker for Continental Western Group, presented coverage and cost differences between the two companies. Reviews showed bids varied in deductibles, addition of wind and hail coverage, and underlying limits. Continental’s bid is $14,117.00 package without excess option and Workmen’s Comp is $3,358.00 for a total of $17,475.00 while EMC’s bid is $24,652.00.

Motion by Havelka, second by Wimer, to approve the bid of $17,475.00 from Continental Western Group to provide insurance coverage to the Village of Mead beginning October 1, 2018. Vote: Guyle-absent, Havelka-yes, Wielage-yes, Wimer-yes, Felty-yes; motion carried 4-0.

Motion by Havelka, second by Felty, to adjourn at 6:20 p.m. Vote: Havelka-yes, Wielage-yes, Wimer-yes, Felty-yes, Guyle-absent; motion carried 4-0.

Shawn Havelka, Chairman

June Moline, Clerk